Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

How Do We Lead with Empathy in the Global Healing of Anti-Racism?

June 28 - July 19

(Part of “RE-IMAGINING A NEW WORLD: Building Practices of Awareness, Activism and Anti-Racism as a Taiko Community”)

In the process of dismantling practices that are born out of colonialism, it is inevitable for us to admit that we are both the victim and victimizer of systemic racism. The process includes a mixture of shame, vulnerability, and courage. Why do we get defensive? How do we approach criticism and frustration? How do we practice empathy as a tactic to heal? How do we hold space for ourselves and others to grow? Reference materials related to Non-violent Communication will be incorporated.

RE-IMAGINING A NEW WORLD: Building Practices of Awareness, Activism and Anti-Racism as a Taiko Community

We welcome you to join us in a virtual practice to address racism, anti-blackness, systemic oppression and activism together as a Taiko Community. 23 taiko thought leaders are facilitating unique topics that are personally relevant and authentic to each of them. Participants will commit to one topic, and over the course of three sessions, will practice and deepen the work together in a small group.

Please join us in this space as an opportunity to learn, grow, and build practices of awareness, so that we can move together against the systemic oppression that has impacted all of our lives.

PROGRAM DATES

SUNDAY, JUNE 28 @ 12PM PT / 3PM ET / 8PM BST
SUNDAY, JULY 12 @ 12PM PT / 3PM ET / 8PM BST
SUNDAY, JULY 19 @ 12PM PT / 3PM ET / 8PM BST

Venue

Online Event

Organizer

Michelle Fujii & Karen Young